top of page

A Letter To Nilofar


” You know what Nilofar means? I’ll assume we all don’t know for the next few seconds. I’ll keep it short and simple. How many of us pay any attention to the meanings when we call out people? Each one of us has a name, each one of us has a meaning, each one of us is brilliant. Nilofar It resembles a beautiful flower; have you ever not given anybody a flower in your life? It brings happiness right? Where did all these differences came about? There are differences right? This is me trying to make them go away, isn’t it? All of these differences came about for one reason alone. And, that is “We” stopped thinking. From the year 1800 onwards, like a kangaroo our we hopped to a staggering 7 billion from 1 billion in such a short span of time. It’s 2016 right? More people means more problems but that also means that you as an individual will have 100s of opportunities to meet some amazing people.


In my life, if I have learned something is that the last thing that’ll happen to you is Death, so why not “try” everything, is it difficult to approach someone you find interesting and say, “Hey, I like you, I’d like to know you more, can I?” Well, if you cross borders the question asked above translates into something completely different but the significance is that it gives birth to an extraordinary friend ship. You know how many “States” there are today? From “Empires” and “Sultanates” to these little packaged “Countries”. One cute example could be a tiny European country whose population will equal that of an ordinary Indian Village. Aren’t these differences beautiful? They are right? You see each other and the speculation begins of whether he is a Pakistani or an Indian and once this obsession is taken care of, then only we start to negotiate with our brains as to what the next step should be. The story tells how curious we people are; you know that right? I wonder why this happens, you know why? Listen, just try to stretch those legs on a couch and pour yourself some scotch and just listen. You feel the desire to sleep when you are tired? You feel the desire to eat when you are hungry? You bleed when you cut yourself? Something red comes out right? You get angry when someone cheats on you, don't you? You smile when someone touches your lips? For all the interesting questions listed above, my Indian friend is likely to have the same answers as me. There isn’t any real difference at all, or is there any? Would you agree with me?


Now comes Calcutta, yes, this great city which I’ve only heard stories off. See, you know the moment Nilofar began to describe those street vendors and the finger melting delicacies they serve, I was already walking on the streets of “Calcutta”, and 10 minutes down the line I realized I was standing next to Oxford street, and we were back in London. But, I know it will happen, I do not know when, and I do not know how, but it will. We were both standing together in Great Britain, the land which we associate our history with, good or bad that is not the debate today. The debate is Nilofar. The reason is to meet all those that I want to meet. It’s about love, harmony, friend ship and living a version of life that is special to the person who lives it. I am no different from you. You had no right over your birth place neither did I. Well, if you knew your birthplace before you were born and you know the place already from where you plan to depart. Then, please by all means, enlighten me as well. The only way forward is harmony. The only reason we exist is to help others exist as well. My promise to Nilofar will be kept, I was born a few miles away from the border that man “drew” himself, and that cannot stop me from seeing a friend, it won’t stop me from seeing the most diverse country that exists on planet earth, at least till “we” all land on Mars as Mr. Elon Musk has promised. Before I go, let me share a little more. You know the most beautiful things that humans do, they “communicate”. And, when they communicate, they get to know more stories, it’s like reading a novel, it’s growing in a way that you would never else imagine. My grandparents; and it’s just not me, pick anyone from my city, they might have a similar answer. But for me, my ancestors came from Amritsar, and before I depart on the journey to The “Incredible India”, Amritsar will be my first pit stop, so to say, Mr. Jobs correctly pointed it out, that “one can only connect the dots while looking backwards”. I have a friend across the border, I want to visit her, come with me. Will You?


Love

Husain


  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
ATTENTION! 

If you are a budding writer with a firm conviction that the "pen still has the might to change the destiny of these two countries, get in touch with us now!

 

Email your CV and a brief Statement of Purpose in 300 words and you could work with us.

 

Email id: editorlighthouseproject@gmail.com

UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

01/11/2015: Welcome our new visionaries

 

03/11/2015: Essay Contest 2015 announcement

 

03/12/2015: Essay contest closes

 

21/12/2015: Results announced

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page